PhD Students

Louise Arathoon
louise.arathoon@ist.ac.at

I am studying inbreeding depression and its role in maintaining self-incompatibility in a wild plant (Antirrhinum majus) population.

Michal Hledik
michal.hledik@ist.ac.at

Kseniia Khudiakova
kseniia.khudiakova@ist.ac.at

Oluwafunmilola Olusanya
oluwafunmilola@ist.ac.at

Gemma Puixeu Sala
gemma.puixeusala@ist.ac.at

My research focus is the study of evolutionary causes and consequences of sex differences. I am interested in understanding 1) why sexual conflict remains pervasive in spite of the existance of mechanisms to resolve it and 2) what the consequences of such long-standing conflict are, particularly in terms of biomedical implications. I am using a combination of theroy and bioinformatic data analyses to answer these questions.

Parvathy Surendranadh
parvathy.surendranadh@ist.ac.at

I am mainly interested in spatial population genetics, where I study the effects of heterogeneous population structure in shaping genetic variation. This includes both developing theory and applying it to spatial genetic data. I am also interested in generating better inference methods that can explain the data and further be used to infer demography by analysing signatures of population structure.  

Diego Garcia Castillo
diegofernando.garciacastillo@ist.ac.at

Stepan Ovchinnikov
stepan.ovchinnikov@ist.ac.at

Arka Pal
arka.pal@ist.ac.at

Anastasiya Tsyhanova
anastasiya.tsyhanova@ist.ac.at